Posted by: arizonad | May 21, 2007

Uniqueness Counts

The Gathering, the doll forum of which I’m a member, had a challenge back in February to doll a fragrance. Most of contestants made dolls based on their favorite perfume bottles. Now dolling with the crowd isn’t necessarily a bad thing (though in this case, there could be trademark issues), but if you’re going to enter a contest you need to stand out. So I did a generic scent – and one I detest as well!

muskgirl.gif

Base by Precious Pixels KH. Last modified February 17, 2007.

Gosh, I hate that stuff! The quickest way to ruin a perfume is to add musk.

About a month later, the results were in. I was pleasantly surprised to find I had won 3rd Place:

ran263.gif

This is my first win, place, or show type of award. I usually get beat out by at least three well-deserving entries. I checked out the poll. 1st place had over 10 votes and 2nd place had about 7, if I recall correctly. I had 3 votes, and there were lots of 2s. Many of the runners-up were no better or worse that I was, so I suspect that the unique subject of my doll helped me out.

Does uniqueness count? Not alone; you have to have the skills to pull it off first. But in a close contest uniqueness can tip the scales.

Edited March 25, 2008 to update link.

Responses

  1. […] I got to use one of the fish patterns I made a while back (and here I thought it would be too large for me to use ). Right now I have him entered in a challenge at the Gathering (the theme is black and orange), though I’ve seen the competition and I doubt I’ll win. Still, I’ve be pleasantly surprised before… […]

  2. […] The Fragrance Challenge (3rd Place!) […]

  3. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this informative article together.

    I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and
    posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!


Leave a Reply

Categories