Posted by: arizonad | December 17, 2011

80×80 Forum Avatars

I’ve got some non-doll graphics for you: avatars. There’s not many, but perhaps you might find what’s here useful.

I’m a member of a few forums that only allow 80 x 80 or smaller avatars, and being at a loss as to what to doll for an av, I looked around the web for something premade to use in the meantime. Not only are 80×80 avs hard to find, many of them were on sites I’d fear to link back to for credit.   I saw a need for avatars of that size from sites you would let your kids visit, so I looked for some tuts and gave it a try.

All photos are from morgueFile. The grunge brush is from Digital Goodies. I’ll link to the tuts I used near the avatars I used them on.

Iguanas. Last modified October 6, 2010.

This av was made using this Vintage Effect tut minus the last step because the picture was red enough without it.

Last modified October 6, 2010.

Same photo, but I used this Orton Effect tut instead. A bit more cheery than the reddish one, don’t you think? 😉

Chameleon. Last modified October 8, 2010.

For this one I used this tut for Making a Photo Grungy. Unfortunately, what works at large sizes doesn’t always work at smaller sizes, so I had to supplement it with a grunge brush and layer modes.

Coyote. Last modified December 28, 2010.

This is another one I did with Orton effect tut; definitely works better with brighter colors.

A silly setter. Last modified December 28, 2010.

Made using this Black and White Vintage tut. This is the best of the five, I think; simple and crisp.

The rules for these avatars are slightly different from most of my graphics. Credit is still required, of course, but in cases where linking is not possible, credit can be giving by saying something like, “I got this from The Brainchildren,” if someone asks where you got that spiffy avatar.

Also, you may change the size of these avatars if necessary. Indeed, depending on where you use them, you might not have a choice! No other changes are allowed. If you want to do anything more, go to the morgueFile and get the original photos. Who knows, with skill and the right tuts, you might be able to make a better avatar than me! Or at least one more to your own tastes.

AZ Dawn

Leave a Reply

Categories